Have any questions?
+44 1234 567 890
History of Hotel Schreiegg's Post
In the south of the "baroque corner of Swabia" - nestled in the idyllic Mindel Valley - is located 30 kilometers west of Augsburg, the tranquil town Thannhausen. In the center of town, our hotel is Schreiegg's Post, which can already look back on a long tradition of hospitality.
More than 500 years, life began in those traditional walls of the inn, with a small attached malthaouse and brewery. Much years later, in 1911, the brewery was relocated to the Eichberg of Thannhausen.
Unchanged remained our parent house, a special and hospatible hotel, as a important part of social life - especially since became a Royal Bavarian Postal Station in 1890.
Thus, the travelers came from far and wide, over which in Thannhausen intersecting busy trading routes to savour Schreiegg's Post renowned cuisine and its homebrewed delicious beer. The inn was temporarily closed, when in 1892 the last Posthalterin "Anna Schreiegg" died.
Since that time, Birgit Schreiegg-Goltermann and Dr. Nils Goltermann have been devoting their whole attention to renovate and reopen this traditional house. Within 2 years they have been managing to build the listed estate to a jewel of luxurious comfort, an ideal place to meet culinary dreams. The builders knew how to keep the historical spirit of this house alive. It'is reflected in the soothing charm of warm wood paneling, old pictures and open fireplaces. Whether in the restaurant or the 13 individually decorated rooms and suites the simple elegance of contemporary style is present .
Thus, since the reopening of our ****-hotels have been built a meeting place for visitors from near and far to enjoy the culinary delights, excellent wines, and - as before - a variety of specialty beers in Schreiegg's Post.
Since March 2010 family Nicke and their team guarantee for warm hospitality in the historic walls.